top of page

LETZTER

POST

    Mein Vortrag für den Internationalen Debra Kongress 2018 (Schweiz)

    +++ English version below +++

    Als ich vor zwei Jahren mit meiner besten Freundin Melanie in unserem Lieblingscafé saß und sie mir plötzlich sagte, dass sie all das nicht ganz verstehen würde, wusste ich nicht, was sie meinte. Sie kannte mich schon so lange und wusste über meine Krankheit Bescheid. Es spielte nie eine Rolle für sie und gleichzeitig hat sie immer Rücksicht genommen. Aber es gab Details und Zusammenhänge, so vieles, das Auswirkungen auf andere Lebens- und Gesundheitsbereiche hatte. Und all das schien kompliziert. Selbst für Menschen im direkten Umfeld einer Person mit EB. „Warum passiert das alles nur?“, fragte sie. Ich schaute sie an und lächelte. An dem Abend habe ich lange mit ihr gesprochen. Über meine Krankheit, meine Sorgen und Wünsche. Sie hörte mir zu, ganz interessiert und sagte, dass es viel mehr Aufklärung geben müsste. Wir haben zusammen überlegt, wie wir das erreichen können. „Schmetterlingsleben“ war geboren und ich habe versucht, meine Flügel auszubreiten.

    Ich habe den Blog erstellt und mich dabei für das Schreiben entschieden. Ich habe es schon immer geliebt, mich selbst, meine Gedanken, Gefühle und Meinungen mit Worten und Texten auszudrücken, mit geschriebenen Worten. Es ist auffällig, dass im Internet oft mit Bildern und Videos über EB aufgeklärt und berichtet wird. Bilder von großen Wunden, weinenden Kindern, dramatischen Blasen und erschöpften Eltern. Bilder, die kaum zu ertragen sind. Es wird solch ein negatives Bild kreiert in den Köpfen der Menschen. Menschen, die EB nicht kannten und diese Bilder sehen, bekommen Angst. Sie werden zu vorsichtig, werden abgeschreckt und entmutigt. Es bleiben mehr Fragen offen, als dass sie beantwortet werden. Es macht immer den Eindruck, als würde es nur diese EB geben: die schmerzhafte, qualvolle EB, die dazu führt, dass Betroffene nicht berührt werden können, nur weinen und nichts Positives vom Leben haben. Als würde ihr Leben aus Leiden bestehen. Dieses Bild wollte ich ändern. Ich möchte nicht, dass Menschen Angst bekommen oder Mitleid haben. Das ist nicht Ziel dieses Blogs. Ich möchte aufklären. Ich möchte erzählen. Ich möchte anderen Mut machen und Freude schenken. Auf eine emotionale und persönliche Weise, aber nicht weinerlich. Ich versuche immer wieder zu betonen, dass die dargestellten Lebensberichte meine Geschichten sind. Meine Empfindungen und Meinungen, meine Ausprägungen der Krankheit und meine Umgangsweise damit, meine Erfahrungen – all das gehört zu meinem Blog. Und trotzdem ist es wichtig, die Vielfalt dabei nicht aus den Augen zu verlieren. Deutlich zu machen, dass es dabei verschiedene Formen und Ausprägungen gibt, aber auch verschiedene Sicht- und Denkweisen. Nicht jeder, der von EB betroffen ist, kann schlecht laufen. Nicht jeder hat Probleme beim Essen. Nicht jeder hat so viele Wunden und Blasen oder noch so viele Haare. Es gibt so verschiedene Formen. Und ich finde es wichtig, der Welt zu zeigen, dass unser Leben nicht nur aus Leid besteht. Dass wir glücklich sein können. Dass es so Vieles gibt, das möglich ist.

    Als ich mit meinem Blog angefangen habe, war ich total aufgeregt und hatte Angst. Ich hatte Angst vor den Reaktionen meiner Freunde und meiner Familie, Angst davor, wie Fremde reagieren und welches Feedback ich bekommen würde und ich hatte Angst davor, in der Öffentlichkeit zu stehen. Ich wollte nicht, dass Menschen denken, ich würde über meine Krankheit schreiben, um Aufmerksamkeit und Mitleid zu bekommen, um mich in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen. Denn das war nicht mein Ziel. Ich wollte kein Mitleid und auch wollte ich nicht im Mittelpunkt stehen. Mein Ziel war ein anderes. Ich wollte dabei Mitwirken, dass Epidermolysis Bullosa bekannter wird. Dass Menschen sich damit beschäftigen und Bewusstsein geschaffen wird. Ich wollte, dass Menschen wissen, dass es EB gibt, dass sie verstehen, was es bedeutet, mit EB zu leben. Menschen, die mich sehen, denken, ich hätte mich verbrannt oder ich hätte Neurodermitis. Sie denken, ich hätte nicht aufgepasst, einen Unfall gehabt oder es sei nur vorübergehend. Sie denken, meine Krankheit wäre heilbar. Sie wissen nicht, was die Gründe für die Krankheit sind. Sie wissen nicht, dass es ein Gendefekt ist, dass es viel mehr ist, als rote Haut und Verbände. Und sie verstehen es nicht. Sie verstehen nicht, warum ich aufpassen muss, warum ich einen Rollstuhl habe, warum meine Finger zusammenwachsen, warum ich nicht gut schlucken und manchmal schlecht sprechen kann. Sie denken, nur meine Hände, meine Nase und mein Hals wären betroffen, weil ich Kleidung trage. Sie ahnen nicht, dass es überall so aussieht. Und all das wissen sie nicht, weil sie noch nie von EB gehört haben. Und so geht es vielen, selbst meinen Bekannten oder Mitstudenten.

    Deshalb fand ich es wichtig, Zusammenhänge und Details zu erklären. Ohne Bilder von Wunden, Verbänden oder traurigen Gesichtern. Ich finde es wichtig, dass dieses schockierende Bild dabei außer Acht gelassen wird, denn es schafft nur Distanz statt Nähe und Zugang. Natürlich ist es auch wichtig, auf die Probleme des Lebens mit einer Behinderung, speziell mit EB, hinzuweisen. Und genau aus diesem Grund erkläre ich so genau, was ein Leben mit EB bedeutet. Ich versuche, all die Fragen zu beantworten, die sich Außenstehende zur Krankheit stellen. Und natürlich spielen dabei auch negative und schmerzende Themen eine Rolle, aber eben nicht nur. Ich berichte also nicht nur über die Krankheit selbst und was EB ausmacht, sondern ich erzähle von meinem Leben. Und von Wünschen. Und Träumen. Und Möglichkeiten. Und Vorstellungen. Und Erlebnissen. Und Abenteuern. Ich schreibe darüber, wie mein Studium läuft, wie meine Freunde mit der Krankheit umgehen, wer mir Kraft gibt und was ich in meiner Freizeit gerne mache. Ich schreibe darüber, was wäre, wenn ich gesund wäre, warum ich so viel Glück im Leben habe und was mir hilft, positiv zu bleiben. Und ich schreibe viel über die Gesellschaft. Ich schreibe darüber, was mir im Alltag passiert. Wie Menschen auf mich reagieren, wie der Umgang zwischen Behinderten und Nicht-Behinderten ist und was sich meiner Meinung nach ändern sollte. Ich erzähle von Mobbing und Diskriminierung, von schönen Momenten und Glücksgefühlen. Und ich erzähle davon, was ich noch erleben möchte. Aber mir ist auch ein wichtiges Anliegen, deutlich zu machen, wie manche Reaktionen und gut gemeinte Ratschläge oder Ausdrücke der vermeintlichen Bewunderung bei mir ankommen und wie ich darüber denke. Ein Beitrag heißt „Ihr wisst nicht, wie stark ihr wärt“ und damit Sie einen Eindruck bekommen, wie meine Blogeinträge aussehen, möchte ich Ihnen diesen Text vorstellen.

    Die Themen sind also sehr vielfältig und setzen sich hauptsächlich aus den Fragen meiner Umwelt und aus meinen Erlebnissen zusammen. Ich habe in meinem 20-jährigen Leben schon viele Reaktionen bekommen. Reaktionen, um die ich nicht gebeten und mit denen ich nicht gerechnet habe. Mithilfe meiner Familie, meiner Freunde und der Liebe um mich herum habe ich EB im Laufe der Jahre als einen Teil von mir akzeptiert. Ich stelle mir nicht mehr die Frage nach den „Warum?“, ich lege den Fokus auf die positiven Dinge und habe gelernt, mich selbst zu lieben mit allen Narben und Einschränkungen. Und dennoch, obwohl EB zu mir gehört, definiert mich EB nicht. Trotzdem werde ich oft darauf reduziert und die Menschen sehen nicht mich, sondern verbundene Hände und einen Rollstuhl.

    Und genau deshalb habe ich mit dem Blog angefangen. Ich liebe Offenheit und Toleranz und bin immer bereit, Fragen zu beantworten. Dann erwarte ich aber auch, dass mir Respekt entgegengebracht wird. Fremde Menschen können mich gerne auf der Straße ansprechen und mir Fragen stellen. Ich werde sie ihnen immer höflich beantworten, wenn sie mit einem Lächeln auf mich zugehen und respektvoll fragen. Denn diesen Umgang wünsche ich mir zwischen Behinderten und Nicht-Behinderten. Diese Offenheit, diese Normalität und diesen Respekt. Denn ich schäme mich nicht für meine Krankheit. Noch schöner ist es, wenn die Krankheit beim Kennenlernen zunächst gar keine Rolle spielt, sondern die Sympathie, das Lachen und die Neugier. Und irgendwann tauchen die Fragen einfach auf. Und es ist leichter, darüber zu reden, wenn man sich besser kennt und auf einer guten, menschlichen Ebene ist.

    Allerdings gibt es auch, wie eben erwähnt, Reaktionen, die unangemessen sind und mit denen ich trotzdem konfrontiert werde. Manche Menschen sagen einem ungebeten, was sie von einem halten oder urteilen so schnell. Von gutgemeinten Ratschlägen bis hin zur Unterstellung von Kindesmisshandlung meinen Eltern gegenüber habe ich schon alles erlebt. Aber ich nehme es den Menschen nicht übel. Sie wissen es nicht besser und sie haben keinen Anstand. Und je nachdem, wie ich gelaunt bin, antworte ich dann. Aber da die meiste Diskriminierung durch Unwissenheit und Unsicherheit entsteht, versuche ich, so gut es geht, diese Unwissenheit und Unsicherheit zu nehmen und sie zu verwandeln in Wissen, Aufgeklärtheit, Stärke und Selbstbewusstsein. Ich möchte den Menschen ein gutes Gefühl geben. Ich möchte ihnen zeigen, dass sie keine Angst haben brauchen. Dass es mir gut geht und sie mir mit einer Umarmung nicht wehtun. Dass ein Leben mit Behinderung nichts Schlimmes ist, sondern dass ich und all die anderen glücklich sein können.

    Und so viel Angst, wie ich vor der Veröffentlichung des Blogs auch hatte – es hat sich gelohnt. Da gibt es Marvin, einen ehemaligen Mitschüler, der dabei geholfen hat, meine Beiträge zu teilen. Da gibt es Lucia aus Wien, eine Wildfremde, die wegen des Blogs eine Facharbeit über EB geschrieben und mich dabei als Fallbeispiel gewählt hat. Mit ihr bin ich mittlerweile gut befreundet und wir planen, uns zu besuchen. Da gibt es Lena und Jennifer, die ebenfalls EB haben und mir immer wieder sagen, wie gut sie sich verstanden und repräsentiert fühlen. Da gibt es Moritz, meinen ehemaligen Englischlehrer, der mir schrieb, dass er den Blog toll fände. Da gibt es Monika, eine Buchautorin, die eine Geschichte über eine starke Frau schrieb, die auch mit EB lebt und Monika sendete mir das Buch zum Lesen kostenlos zu. Da gibt es Lars aus Berlin, der ehrenamtlich beim therapeutischen Reiten arbeitet und dort auch öfter ein Mädchen mit EB sieht. Wir haben uns ausgetauscht und er wollte wissen, wie er das Mädchen am besten ansprechen kann. Seitdem schreiben wir uns Emails und Postkarten. Da gibt es das Magazin „Seltene Krankheiten“, für welches ich einen Artikel schreiben durfte. Da gibt es Mandy, eine Kommilitonin, die mich wegen meines Blogs angeschrieben hatte und mit der ich seitdem so gut befreundet bin und die mich durch gute und schlechte Zeiten begleitet. Da gibt es die Inklusionsbeauftragte unserer Universität, die vom Blog begeistert ist und ihn in ihren Seminaren vorstellen möchte. Da gibt es Anni, eine gute Freundin, der Aufklärung und Awareness zu der Krankheit so wichtig sind, dass sie mir den Vortrag übersetzt hat. Und da gibt es Eltern. So viele Eltern von anderen Schmetterlingskindern, die besorgt um ihre jungen Kinder sind und sich das Beste für sie wünschen. Die mir Fragen stellen und auf Antworten hoffen. Denen ich Mut machen und die ich beruhigen möchte. Da sind meine Eltern und meine Geschwister, die mich immer unterstützen und mir so viel Liebe entgegenbringen. Und da ist immer noch Melanie, meine beste Freundin. Die mich ermutigt hat, den Blog zu erstellen und bis heute an meiner Seite ist. All das habe ich erlebt. Und keine einzige Reaktion zu meinem Blog war negativ. Die Menschen gehen seitdem offener auf mich zu.

    Ja, ich habe EB, aber ich bin nicht EB. Mich macht viel mehr aus. Ich habe früher für mein Leben gerne Klavier gespielt, ich liebe Spaziergänge, mag lachende Menschen, die Sonne, lese gerne Poesie und höre viel Musik mit guten Texten, ich liebe Gewitter, Disney und Wildblumen, mag Cafés im Sommer und Kakao im Winter, ich liebe den Frühling und die Liebe, ich mag es, wenn Menschen glücklich sind. Es gibt für mich nichts schöneres, als einen Menschen, der lacht. Ich mag es, wenn Menschen offen sind, wenn sie eine Ausstrahlung haben und von innen leuchten. Wenn sie zuhören und mir dabei in die Augen sehen. Wenn man mit ihnen nicht unbedingt reden muss und es keine peinliche Stille ist, sondern ein schöner Moment. Wenn sie sie selbst sind. All das bin ich. Ich bin nicht nur die Frau mit EB und das möchte ich mit dem Blog deutlich machen.

    Vielen Dank, dass Sie mir zugehört haben.

    My Speech for the International Debra Congress 2018 (Switzerland)

    Two years ago I was sitting with my best friend Melanie in our favorite café when she suddenly told me that she just couldn’t understand it all. I didn’t understand quite what she meant at first. She has known me and my disease for so long. It never mattered to her and at the same time she was always very considerate of my condition. But there are so many details, so many contextualizations, so much that affects others’ health and living conditions, and all of this just seemed so complicated. Even for people directly affected by a person with EB. “Why is all of this happening?” she asked me. I looked at her and smiled. That night we talked for a long time. We talked about my disease, my concerns, my aspirations. She listened to my every word and then insisted that people should create more awareness. We thought about different alternatives on how to accomplish this, and thus “Butterfly Life” was born and I tried to spread my wings.

    I created this blog because I decided that writing was the best tool. I’ve always loved to express my thoughts, feelings, opinions with words and texts, with written words. I’ve noticed how much EB is discussed within the framework of pictures and videos – images of giant wounds, crying children, dramatic blisters and exhausted parents. Images that are difficult to bear. These images very negatively portray EB to people who do not know EB and then immediately often fear EB. They lose hope, they become more careful, their questions outnumber their received answers. The images published online create the impression that there is only this form of EB: the painful, agonizing EB, that hinders those who carry it from physical intimacy, are only crying and have nothing positive to look forward to in life. As if their lives solely consisted of pain. I wanted to change that image. I don’t want people to fear EB or have pity on us. That was not the aim I had envisioned for my blog. I want to clarify. I want to explain. I want to encourage others and share joy, with a truthful, emotional and personal touch, but never mournfully or self-pityingly. I always repeat the fact that what I write are simply my stories – I can only express my personal opinions, my disease’s conditions, and my manners of handling it. All of this and more is included in my Blog. Moreover, I try to emphasize the fact that there are not only different degrees and circumstances but also perspectives and mentalities concerning the disease. Not everyone affected by EB has difficulties walking or eating. Not everyone has so many wounds and blisters. Not everyone is missing hair. There are so many different forms of EB and I think it is vital for the world to understand that our lives do not just consist of pain. That we are happy. That our lives are rich with potential.

    When I started my blog I was very excited but simultaneously scared. I was afraid of the reactions of my friends and my family. I was afraid of the reactions of strangers and of the feedback I would get. And I was very afraid of standing in the limelight. I didn’t want people to think that I was writing about my disease to get attention and pity, to be the center of attention. That was absolutely not my goal, quite the opposite. My main goal is for EB to become more familiar to people, for it to become a well known term, for people to discuss and ponder and become more conscious of it. I want people to know that EB even exists, and then furthermore understand what it is like to live with EB. Many people who see me think I was burned or I have eczema or I was in a tragic accident. Many also think my disease is curable. They don’t understand the reasons for EB. They don’t understand that it is a genetic defect, that it is more than just red skin and bandages. Most people just don’t understand. They don’t understand why I must always be mindful of my surroundings, why I am in a wheelchair, why my fingers are growing together, why I cannot swallow food and why I can’t speak well sometimes. They think that only my hands, nose and neck are affected because that is all they can see. They don’t even realize that my entire body looks this way. They don’t know all this because they have never heard of EB, many of whom are my friends or peers.

    That’s why it is so important to me to explain contexts and details, especially without pictures of wounds, bandages and miserable faces. These kinds of shocking images only create distance instead of intimacy and access, that’s why I consciously try not to utilize them. Of course it is also important to address the problems of life with a physical disability, especially EB. That is the reason why I try to explain what life with EB entails. I try my best ability to answer any questions outsiders might have about the disease. Naturally, negative and painful topics play a central role, but it’s so much more than just that. Therefore, I try not to just write about my disease but also about my life in general – my desires, my dreams, my possibilities, my perspectives, my experiences, my adventures. I write about my university experiences, how my friends and family handle my disease, who gives me strength and what I do in my free time. I write about what a completely healthy life would look like, I write about why I consider myself so lucky, I write about what helps me to stay positive. I also write a lot about society, what happens in my day-to-day life. I tell stories of how people react when seeing me, what contact between disabled and not disabled people looks like and also what changes I would like to see. I explain about bullying and discrimination, about beautiful moments and happy feelings. I also like to daydream about what I still have planned to experience! However, I still find it very important not to disregard how certain reactions or well-meant pieces of advice or remarks affect me personally. One of my blog articles is titled “You don’t know how strong you would be” which I would like to present to you in order to give you a first impression of what my articles look like.

     

    You don’t know how strong you would be

    „How do you do it?“ „I wouldn’t be strong enough!“ „I would have given up!“ „How do you bear it?“

    I can’t tell how often people have said things like this to me and yet every time I smile politely but on the inside I am enraged – I’ll never be able to eat as much as I would need to in order to vomit as much as I would like to, even when people don’t mean any harm by what they tell me.

    I’ve often met people who didn’t know anything about me. Perhaps we had been speaking for ten minutes before I was completely interrogated about my illness and then having to explain myself. Principally, I don’t have a problem talking about my illness – I hope you all know this about me and those who know me personally also know that I truly mean it. However, people’s reactions to my explanation of what EB is sometimes leaves me speechless. „I couldn’t do it!“ What couldn’t you do? Handle this sickness? Live with this sickness? Why would you say such a thing?

    I can tell that people mostly try to express their respect and admiration. What they don’t know is that they are devaluing living with (this particular) sickness without having such a chronic illness. However, they are doomed to fall. The fact of the matter is namely that they have never walked a single day in our shoes and don’t know what it is like to have this sickness. You cannot judge. You just don’t understand the benefits and disadvantages about it. You don’t know which problems exist and what possible future solutions look like. But another fact is simply that it’s okay that you don’t know. It is completely natural. You aren’t able to tell whether or not you could live with this disease, whether you could manage or whether you would give up.

    I say this because you do not know what it is like to be in this situation: being sick since birth. You don’t know what kind of strength you can develop when you don’t know what life is like without it; when you have people around you who support you unconditionally and when you can find the positive things in life that help you forget how difficult it can be. You don’t know what kind of motivation you can muster up for yourself, what possibilities there are to solve any number of problems related to the disease and what sorts of alternatives I have had to find in order to navigate through life as seamlessly as possible.

    I am simply used to it now. I am used to the pain, I am used to people’s staring, I am used to being dependent of others. The effort. The loss of time. The different ways of thinking. The different ways of structuring. I don’t know it any different, and I don’t have a different choice. Either I can accept my reality or perish because of it. I have chosen the first alternative. Consciously.

    I would never go up to you and say „You walk every day and never use a wheelchair? I couldn’t do it, how do you manage all that?“ That sounds absurd! You don’t know it any differently, you can consider yourselves lucky that you can walk, but I don’t know what it is like. I am lucky I can explore the world thanks to my wheelchair.

    How dare you to judge or even diminish a life you do not lead and then comment that „you couldn’t do it“? You are not aware of how strong you truly are. Therefore, you would be quite surprised to learn what you are capable of.

     

    You can tell that the topics I discuss are very diverse and are mainly constituted of questions asked in my surroundings as well as my own experiences. In my 20 years on earth I have received a wide spectrum of reactions. Reactions I did not ask for and reactions I did not expect. With the help of my family, my friends and the love I have around me, I have grown to accept EB as a part of me. I no longer ask the question “Why?”. I rather try to focus on the positive things in life and have learned to love myself with all my scars and limitations. And yet, even though EB is a part of me, it does not define me. I regret the fact that people often don’t see me but rather my bandaged hands and my wheelchair.

    That is why I started this blog. I love open-mindedness and tolerance and I am always prepared to ask questions. In return, I expect respect. Strangers on the street are welcome to approach me and ask questions. I will always answer politely if they smile and ask respectfully. This is the kind of approach I wish for between disabled and non-disabled people. An open mind, a sense of normalcy and respect, because I am not ashamed of my disease. It’s even more enjoyable when the disease doesn’t play any role when I first meet someone but rather a first acquaintance of sympathy, laughter and curiosity. At some point, the questions always turn up, but it’s easier to talk about it when you know the person better and communicate on a good, human level.

    Unfortunately, there are also reactions that are inappropriate which I am often confronted with. Some people tell me what they think about my disease without considering how their words affect me and are quick to judge. From well-meant pieces of advice to the assumption of child neglect from my parents, I have heard it all. I try not to hold it against them. They just don’t know any better and lack integrity. Thus, depending on my mood of the day, such people receive certain answers. But because most discrimination stems from ignorance and insecurity, I aim to take it and transform it into knowledge, clarity, strength and self-confidence. I want to give people a good feeling. I want to show people that they do not have to be afraid, that I feel well and that they will not hurt me when they hug me. I want people to know that a life with disability is not a bad thing, but rather that others and I can be happy.

    All the worries I had before publishing my blog were blown away once I uploaded my first blog and received my first feedback. It has definitely been worth it. There is Marvin, a former peer of mine, who continued to help me spread the word. There is Lucia from Vienna, a complete stranger, who wrote a research paper about EB and used me as a case study. Since then we have become good friends and we are planning to visit each other. There’s Lena and Jennifer who also have EB and continuously tell me how well represented they feel through my articles. There’s Moritz, my former English teacher who wrote me that he thoroughly enjoys my blog. There is Monika, an author, who wrote a story about a strong woman also living with EB later sent me a copy of her book for free. There is Lars from Berlin who offers therapeutic horseback riding lessons and often teaches a girl with EB. We talked and he wanted to know what would be the most appropriate way to approach the girl. Since them we have been exchanging emails and postcards. There is the magazine “Unique Diseases” which asked me to write an article for them. There is Mandy, a fellow student of mine, who wrote me because of the blog and has since then become a very dear friend who accompanies me through good and difficult times. There is the inclusion counselor at my university who is thrilled by my blog and wants to include it into her seminars. There is Anni, a good friend, who cares so much about awareness that she translated this speech for me. And then there are the parents. So many parents from other butterfly children who are concerned for their children and want only the best for them. They ask me questions and hope for answers, whom I try to cheer up and calm down. And there are my parents and my siblings, who have always supported me and have given me so much love. And of course, there is still Melanie, my best friend, who encouraged me to create this blog and is still by my side. I have experienced all of this and much more. Not a single reaction to my blog was negative. Since its publication, people are more willing to approach me with their questions.

    Yes, I have EB, but I am not EB. I am so much more than just EB. I used to enjoy playing the piano, I love to go for walks, I love smiling people, the sun, reading poetry, listening to music with good lyrics. I love storms, Disney movies, wild flowers, I like cafés in the summer, hot chocolate in the winter. I love spring, I love love, I love it when people are happy. There is nothing more beautiful than a person who is laughing. I like it when people are open, when they radiate a certain presence and shine from the inside, when they listen and look me in the eyes. I enjoy a comfortable moment of silence, a calm and quiet moment. When people are just themselves.

    All of this is me. I am not just the woman with EB and that is what I try to accomplish with this blog.

    Thank you for listening to my story!

    bottom of page